Cook Islands Language Week  Auckland Library.

Join participating Auckland libraries in the celebration of the unique language and culture of the Cook Islands.

The theme for this year is: “Ako Mārie ngā pōtiki teia rā – Nurture young minds today so they become leaders tomorrow.” 

The Cook Islands lie northeast of New Zealand and are made up of 15 major islands. The official language of the islands is Cook Islands Māori, also called Te Reo Māori Kūki Airani or more widely known as Rarotongan. Other dialects spoken in the Cook Islands include Penrhynese, Pukapukan and Rakahanga-Manihiki.

4 – 10 Aukute / August
Multiple locations
Cost: Free
Click: Auckland Libraries
Click: Auckland Council