Tokelau Language Week 2014

Tokelau Language Week 2014
Vaiaho o te Gagana Tokelau

Celebrate the unique language and culture of Tokelau.
The name Tokelau means the “north wind”.
Tokelau is a territory of New Zealand and is comprised of three coral atolls: Fakaofo, Nukunonu and Atafu. Approximately 1400 people live in Tokelau where Tokelauan is the official language and English is also widely used.

According to the 2013 New Zealand census, there are 7176 people who identify as being Tokelauan living in New Zealand with approximately 27% of those living in Auckland. Slightly under a third of these people speak Tokelauan.
Check out what’s on at Auckland Libraries during Tokelau Language Week!

26 Oketopa – 1 Novema
26 October – 1 November
Multiple locations
Cost: Free

Visit: AucklandLibraies